Government appoints nine new members to Commission for Equality and Human Rights

Secretary of state for communities and local government Ruth Kelly today announced the names of nine new commissioners for the Commission for Equality and Human Rights.

Women’s National Commission chair Margaret Prosser, a life-long campaigner for equal rights, has been appointed deputy chair of the new commission, which will guide on all equality and human rights issues in the UK from October 2007.

Trevor Phillips had already been appointed as its chairman.

The other eight commissioners are:

  • Kay Allen – BskyB diversity manager

  • Jane Campbell – health and social care policy adviser

  • Kay Carberry – TUC assistant general secretary

  • Sally Greengross – International Longevity Centre chief executive

  • Francesca Klug – London School of Economics human rights futures project director

  • Ziauddin Sardar – writer and academic

  • Ben Summerskill – Stonewall chief executive

  • Neil Wooding – National Assembly for Wales director of public service management

Up to five further commissioners will be appointed early in the New Year. This will include a commissioner for Scotland, as well as people with particular expertise in government and business.

Kelly said: “The exceptional set of skills and experiences brought together through these appointments creates a strong foundation for the future.”

Phillips added: “This is a formidable group of people whose experience and expertise will be vital to fulfilling our mission.

“They have an exceptional collective track record in the field of equality and human rights which will give us a bold and creative start.”

Comments are closed.