More NHS Foundation Trusts on the cards

more hospitals are eligible to become NHS Foundation Trusts.

Trusts remain fully part of the NHS, but have greater management and financial
freedoms to improve services.

trusts announced by health secretary John Reid can apply immediately to the
Office of the Independent Regulator of NHS Foundation Trusts for authorisation.

also confirmed that the next wave of NHS Foundation Trust applications is to be
expanded to include, for the first time, three-star-rated Mental Health Trusts.

marks another important step on the road to decentralisation, freeing up the
NHS from day-to-day Whitehall control and giving local patients more
power," he said.

Government said it is committed to ensuring that all healthcare trusts have NHS
foundation status by 2008.

eligible NHS trusts:

Aintree Hospitals NHS Trust

Barnsley District General Hospital NHS Trust

Birmingham Heartlands and Solihull NHS Trust

Birmingham Women’s Healthcare NHS Trust

Burton Hospitals NHS trust

Chesterfield and North Derbyshire Royal Hospitals NHS trust

East Somerset NHS Trust

Frimley Park Hospitals NHS Trust

Gateshead Health NHS Trust

Harrogate Healthcare NHS Trust

Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Liverpool Women’s Hospital NHS Trust

Nottingham City hospital NHS Trust

Royal National Hospital For Rheumatic Diseases NHS trust

Southend Hospital NHS Trust

South Tyneside Healthcare NHS Trust

The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

The Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch NHS Trust

West Suffolk Hospitals NHS Trust

Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Trust

By Quentin Reade

Comments are closed.