Annual awards held in Edinburgh

IOSH held its annual awards ceremony and dinner at the Murrayfield Stadium,
Edinburgh in November.

It was the Institution’s first annual dinner to be held in Scotland and
featured the presentation of the Royal Charter by Graham Donald, deputy clerk
of the Privy Council, and the bestowal of this year’s annual awards, given to
recognise the achievements and contributions of occupational safety and health

The highlight of the awards ceremony was the presentation of the Lifetime
Achievement Award, sponsored by Sypol Limited, which went to the former deputy
director general of HSE, David Eves CB.

Three further annual awards were also presented: The Academic Journal Award,
sponsored by Bland Bankart, went to professor Andrew Hale from the Delft University
of Technology, Holland.

The Practical Project Award, sponsored by Zurich Risk Services, went to Ng
Lee Tak for his work at the Singapore Armed Forces National Service Training

The Technician Safety Practitioner Scholarship, sponsored by Safety and
Health Practitioner magazine, went to Begona de la Cruz of London Underground.

Special presentations, to mark more than 50 years’ membership of IOSH, were
made to retired members Leslie Ockleton, a past president, Stanley Simpson and
Thomas Kneale. A certificate was also presented to Timothy Walker, director
general of the HSE, to mark his becoming an honorary vice-president of the

The event attracted over 250 members, many of whom joined in the ceilidh and
danced into the wee small hours.

Comments are closed.