IOSH to recognise lifetime’s achievement in health and safety

Do you know an individual who has made an exceptional
contribution to occupational safety and health? If so, now is your opportunity
to put them forward for due recognition. 


The Institution of Occupational Safety and Health is
inviting nominations for the Health and Safety Lifetime Achievement award,
sponsored by Sypol Liberty Risk Services.


This award was created in 1999 to recognise significant
contributions to furthering health and safety practice, establishing effective
health and safety programmes, and contributing to partnerships with other
related professional disciplines. The first recipient was former Labour
minister Lord Walker of Doncaster, who was responsible for the introduction of
the Health and Safety at Work Act (1974).


By creating the first comprehensive, effective framework for
the protection of UK workers from accidents and ill-health, and by ensuring the
passage of the Bill through Parliament and on to the statute book, Lord Walker
made a massive contribution to health and safety practice. 


If you would like to nominate someone to receive the 2000
award, you will need to provide a written submission detailing the reasons why
you believe this person should be recognised.


All submissions should be sent to Lawrence Waterman, Sypol
Liberty Risk Services, Elsinore House, Buckingham Street, Aylesbury,
Buckinghamshire HP20 2NQ. 


Nominations are confidential and will be judged by IOSH
president Ian Waldram, Janet Asherson of the CBI, and Owen Tudor of the TUC.
The closing date for submissions is 30 June and nominations will be accepted
from individuals or groups. 


The winner will receive a trophy and certificate, plus a
cash award, to be given to the project of their choice which will further
promote health and safety. The presentation will be made at IOSH’s annual
dinner, which will be held in Harrogate on 7 November 2000.


The Institution of Occupational Safety and Health
represents 25,000 safety and health professionals in industry, commerce and the
public sector. Tel: 0116-257 3100;

Comments are closed.