Aurion Learning celebrates as EalingHELP is finalist in e-Government National Awards 2010

EalingHELP was shortlisted in the “Building a fairer society with e-Government services” category. This prize is awarded for the use of ICT and e-Government services to improve social inclusion or improve lives and communities. 

EalingHELP is a website specifically designed to help parents and carers of children with disabilities in the London Ealing borough. It acts as a single point of information, providing improved access to support services, referral, assessment and appropriate help. EalingHELP also provides a forum that allows parents/carers of children with disabilities to share their knowledge, experiences and ideas, and seek advice from each other. This creates both a support network and community of learning for parents and carers.  EalingHELP was commissioned by Ealing Mencap and Ealing Service for Children with Additional Needs (ESCAN) and designed and built by Aurion Learning.  

Speaking about the awards, Dr. Maureen Murphy, Managing Director of Aurion Learning said:  “We are truly delighted that EalingHELP has been nominated for this prestigious award.  The e-Government National Awards is one the most important public sector technology competitions in the UK celebrating the implementation of innovative technology solutions.  We are very proud that the EalingHELP initiative is getting the recognition it rightly deserves.”  

Nick Radclyffe, EalingHELP said: “When time is precious and you just don’t have enough in the day it’s important to know where you can find the information you need. We try to fulfil that need. Much in the same way that ESCAN provides a single point of contact for parents and carers looking after children with disabilities and assists them to access services in Ealing, so EalingHELP provides a single point of information. We’ve been able to count on the support of ESCAN both in terms of funding and in their support as well.”

The winners of the e-Government National Awards 2010 will be announced at ceremony taking place at the London Guildhall on Wednesday 26 January 2011.  

Comments are closed.