NHS Employers’ assembly selects its chairman

The chief executive of Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has been named as the chairman of NHS Employers’ new 204-strong assembly.

Speaking at the first assembly meeting in London this week, John Rostill told more than 150 senior NHS managers that this was their opportunity to make a difference to the lives of thousands of NHS staff.

“First and foremost we are about improving patient care. But one of the best ways of achieving this is by continuing to improve the working lives of our staff and by making the NHS one of the best employers in the country,” he said.

“The role of the assembly is crucial in representing the reality of life in the NHS and the impact of the workforce agenda.”

At the meeting, the assembly members discussed the role, responsibilities and remit of the assembly. It will meet again later in the year to discuss its future strategy.

Assembly members have been drawn from a wide range of backgrounds and geographical areas, and represent every strategic health authority area and every type of NHS trust.

The assembly has a policy board of 22 members who will determine the strategic direction of NHS Employers and decide on policy issues. It will meet between four and six times a year.

NHS Employers director Steve Barnett said: “NHS Employers assembly plays a vital role as, for the first time, it will be giving employers within the NHS an independent and meaningful voice on employment issues.”

The policy board members are:

  • Assembly chairman: John Rostill, chief executive, Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Assembly vice-chairman: Sian Thomas, director of HR, Ashford & St Peter’s Hospitals NHS Trust
  • James Birrell, chief executive, Aintree Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Simon Pleydell, chief executive, South Tees Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Linda Glasby, chief executive, Humber Mental Health Teaching NHS Trust
  • Jeremy Taylor, chief executive, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Ruth Brunt, director of nursing, North Bristol NHS Trust
  • Alison Norman, director of nursing & operations, Christie Hospital NHS Trust
  • Hugo Mascie-Taylor, medical director, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Fiona Ottewell, head of physiotherapy, Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Prem Singh, chief executive, Greater Derby PCT
  • Mike Pyrah, chief executive, Central Cheshire PCT
  • Erville Millar, chief executive, Camden & Islington Mental Health & Social Care Trust
  • Steve Griffin, executive director of personnel & development, County Durham & Darlington Acute Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Tina Smallwood, director of HR & organisational learning, West Hull PCT
  • Harbhajan Brar, director of HR and organisational development, Barnet and Chase Farm Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Sue Whittaker, chair, Newcastle, North Tyneside & Northumberland Mental Health NHS Trust
  • Julie Dent, chief executive, South West London SHA
  • Annie Brough, head of workforce, South East London SHA
  • Alan Stuttard, chief executive, NHS Pensions Agency
  • Richard Jones, head of HR and organisational development, Birkenhead & Wallasey PCT
  • Charles Easmon, non executive director, South West London SHA

For an interview with Steve Barnett go to Starting as he means to go on

Comments are closed.