Personnel Today Awards 2007: Meet the judges

Addleshaw Goddard
HR Impact Award

Judge: Paul Turner, HR consultant and performance coach (formerly at West Bromwich Building Society)

Paul Turner was formerly general manager (people) at West Bromwich Building Society, where he led his HR team to a series of accolades, including overall winner in the Personnel Today Awards 2004. Turner made the Personnel Today Top 40 HR Power Players in 2005 and 2006. He now advises organisations on people strategies, and is undertaking a PhD in high-performance coaching.

HR Director of the Year Award

Judge: Wendy Dean, HR director, ANC Express

Wendy Dean is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) and has an HR career spanning more than 22 years, beginning at Royal Ordnance as a personnel officer. She has worked at ANC for 16 years, during which time she has driven HR high up the strategic agenda. She was crowned HR Director of the Year at the 2006 Personnel Today Awards.

Award for Talent Management

Judge: Simon Jones, acting chief executive, Investors in People UK

Formerly director of finance and strategic planning and company secretary for Investors in People UK (IIP UK), Simon Jones became interim chief executive capacity on 1 December 2006. His aim is to work with IIP UK’s chairman, its board, its stakeholders and staff to ensure that IIP UK and its delivery partners are fit for purpose and help UK businesses and organisations improve their productivity through better people management, leadership, engagement and investment in skills.

Computers In Personnel
Award for Excellence in HR through Technology

Judge: Keith Rodgers, director, Webster Buchanan Research

Keith Rodgers is co-founder of Webster Buchanan Research, a market research company focusing on people management and the supporting role of technology. He has carried out extensive research into the adoption of technology among private and public sector organisations in the UK and US, and written numerous reports for HR, finance and other senior business managers.

Employers’ Law
Award for Diversity in the Workplace

Judge: Kay Allen, commissioner, Commission for Equality and Human Rights

One of the UK’s leading social policy and inclusion specialists, Kay Allen is MCIPD qualified with more than 16 years’ direct experience in HR, including stints at the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, B&Q and BSkyB. Her most recent appointment is that of group head of social policy and inclusion for Royal Mail Group. Allen has served as a commissioner on the Disability Rights Commission and was recently appointed as a commissioner at the Commission for Equality and Human Rights.

Hays Human Resources
Award for Innovation in Recruitment and Retention

Judge: Peter Reilly, director, HR research and consultancy, Institute for Employment Studies

Peter Reilly leads the work on reward and the HR function at the Institute for Employment Studies (IES), and contributes significantly to projects on HR planning. He has published IES reports and written various articles and books on the same subjects. He has given consultancy support to organisations on issues concerning HR strategy and organisation, planning and resourcing, retention, workforce structures and organisation, trends in personnel management, performance management and reward. He previously had a 16-year career with Shell, where he held a variety of HR roles.

The Rialto Consultancy
Award for Excellence in Business Partnering

Judge: Paul Sparrow, professor of international HR management, Lancaster University Management School

Paul Sparrow is director of the Centre for Performance-Led HRM at Lancaster University Management School. He has published more than 100 books, journal articles and chapters, and consulted with major multinationals, public sector organisations and inter-governmental agencies. His research covers cross-cultural and international HR management, HR strategy and changes in the employment relationship.

Northgate HR
Award for Best HR Strategy in Line with Business

Judge: Nick Holley, director, HR Centre of Excellence, Henley Management College

Nick Holley brings a unique background to his role at Henley Management College – which combines experience as an army officer, as a futures broker with Merrill Lynch and 16 years in senior development roles in large global organisations – where he has implemented large-scale organisational change and leadership and people development programmes.

RAA Sprague Gibbons
Employer Branding Award

Judge: Gary Davies, professor of corporate reputation, Manchester Business School

Gary Davies was previously at Templeton College, Oxford, and before that held the post of professor in retail marketing at what is now Manchester Metropolitan University. He is a visiting professor at WIT in the Republic of Ireland, where he heads the Waterford Crystal Centre for Marketing Studies. At Manchester Business School, he teaches marketing and strategy to MBA and post-experience groups.

His main areas of research are in corporate reputation and market strategy. He has written more than 200 articles, books and monographs in the academic and business press. His commercial experience includes the Mars Group and British Aluminium. Davies also works as a freelance consultant in market strategy.

RBS group
Employee Engagement Award

Judge: Peter Mills, associate director, The Rialto Consultancy

Peter Mills has more than 30 years’ experience as an HR leader and business consultant. He has held senior positions in manufacturing, investment banking, technology, public sector and consulting. His focus is strategic change, leadership and executive coaching. He is currently directing a major collaborative project on staff engagement with Henley Management College.
HR Measurement Award

Judge: Duncan Brown, director, PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC)

Duncan Brown leads Pricewaterhouse­Cooper’s management and employee reward work. He was formerly assistant director general at the CIPD and a partner at consultants Towers Perrin. He is a well-known author and commentator on HR and reward issues and was placed in Personnel Today’s Top 10 HR Power Players in 2006.

Training and Coaching Today
 Award for Excellence in Training

Judge: Andrew Mayo, director, Mayo Learning International

Andrew Mayo is a consultant, speaker, writer and facilitator in international HR management. He worked for nearly 30 years in major international organisations. He currently runs his own consultancy company, Mayo Learning International, is professor of HCM at Middlesex Business School, and a programme director of executive education programmes in the Centre for Management Development at London Business School.

Award for Reward and Recognition

Judge: Iain McMath, managing director, Sodexho Pass

Iain McMath joined the voucher division of business services firm Sodexho in August 2002, bringing 11 years’ sales and marketing experience with him. He is responsible for the overall strategic direction, oversees UK investment and development, and ensures the delivery of a high-quality service. Since taking up the position, he has played an important role in securing major contracts with high-profile organisations such as the Home Office, the launch of the Childcare Choice online childcare voucher scheme, and SayShopping multi-retailer vouchers.

Judging panel for overall winner

  • David Yeandle, deputy director of employment policy, EEF
  • Sian Thomas, deputy director, NHS Employers
  • Brendan Barber, general secretary, TUC
  • John Gilkes, chief executive, Roffey Park
Comments are closed.