Personnel Today Awards 2013 shortlist revealed

The finalists for this year’s Personnel Today Awards have been revealed, with 80 UK organisations making the shortlists across 18 categories.

The awards will culminate in a glittering event at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, with more than 800 HR professionals and industry suppliers celebrating the very best in HR.

Personnel Today editor Rob Moss said: “All those that have made the shortlist should be really pleased with themselves. We’ve been inundated with entries and I must extend my sincerest thanks to our panel of expert judges who have had the really hard task of deciding which entries really stand out.”

Finalists in the 2013 awards include a wide variety of organisations across all industry sectors, from Asda, Barclays and Cafcass to Volkswagen, Wiltshire Council and the Youth Hostels Association.

Merlin Entertainments, whose HR director Tea Colaianni won the coveted HR Director of the Year award last year, was shortlisted in no fewer than five categories.

All shortlisted individuals and teams are invited to the Shortlist Party on 10 September as an opportunity to celebrate their success, ahead of the awards ceremony on 18 November 2013. Last year’s ceremony was hosted by comedian and actor Hugh Dennis, pictured above.

Detailed profiles of all our finalists will be published between now and November.

Find out more about the Personnel Today Awards 2013 and book a table for the awards ceremony here.

The shortlist for the Occupational Health Awards, the winners of which receive their prizes at the Personnel Today Awards, will be announced in the coming weeks.


The 2013 Personnel Today Awards Shortlist


People categories

MonsterHR Newcomer of the Year
Sponsored by Monster

  • Emma Hartley – Barclays
  • Mary Miller – Certeco
  • Sam Fraser – Countess of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Ellie Goddard – East Sussex County Council
  • Jessica Parsons – Serco Human Resources
  • Kayleigh Aston – Sovini Group.


MonsterHR Professional of the Year
Sponsored by Monster

  • Nicola Burrows – ATS Euromaster
  • Katrina Johnston – Gamma
  • Sarah Findlater – Marks & Spencer
  • Stefanie McCormack – Merlin Entertainments
  • Elizabeth Fisher – Napp Pharmaceutical Holdings
  • Kirsty Roberts – Trafford Council.


MonsterHR Director of the Year
Sponsored by Monster

  • Jabbar Sardar – Cafcass
  • Sarah Trota – Circle Group Housing
  • Karen Nightingall – CMA CGM
  • Arran McDowell – Elior
  • Matt Elliott – Virgin Money
  • Rosemary McGinness – William Grant & Sons.


MonsterHR Team of the Year
Sponsored by Monster

  • ATS Euromaster
  • Hastings Direct
  • Merlin Entertainments
  • Royal Mail
  • Travis Perkins
  • Virgin Money.


HR Impact Award

  • Coutts
  • DHL Supply Chain
  • Hastings Direct
  • National Offender Management Service
  • Royal Mail
  • Thales.


Award for Managing Change

  • Direct Line Group
  • Mereway Kitchens
  • Thales
  • Virgin Money
  • Wiltshire Council
  • Wolseley.

Talent categories

Youth Employment Initiative Award

  • Barclays
  • Certeco
  • CGI
  • IHG
  • KPMG
  • McDonald’s Restaurants
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
  • Trafford Council.


A&DCAward for Talent Management
Sponsored by a&dc

  • EDF Energy
  • Hertfordshire County Council
  • LV=
  • Lyreco
  • Merlin Entertainments
  • Wolseley.


Harvey NashAward for Innovation in Recruitment
Sponsored by Harvey Nash

  • Barclays
  • Birmingham City Council
  • Boots
  • Reed Smith
  • RSA
  • Sovini Group.


Employer Branding Award

  • Direct Line Group
  • Mercer
  • Mitsubishi UFJ Securities International
  • Plantronics
  • Prudential UK & Europe
  • Signet Trading.


OakleafEmployee Engagement Award
Sponsored by Oakleaf

  • Essex County Council
  • Fujitsu
  • IHG
  • Invensys
  • MBNA
  • Merlin Entertainments
  • Northumbria Probation Trust
  • SIX Financial Information.


Specialism categories

eneiAward for Diversity and Inclusion
Sponsored by the Employers Network for Equality and Inclusion

  • Asda
  • Barts Health NHS Trust
  • EDF Energy
  • E.ON
  • Equal Approach
  • Merlin Entertainments.


Award for Employee Benefits

  • Financial Ombudsman Service
  • Hymans Robertson
  • Luminus
  • Prudential UK & Europe
  • YHA England & Wales.


Employee Relations InstituteAward for Excellence in Employee Relations
Sponsored by the Employee Relations Institute

  • Broadway Homelessness and Support
  • Hertfordshire County Council
  • Thales
  • The Landmark Hotel
  • Volkswagen Group
  • YHA England & Wales.


Award for Health at Work

  • Centro
  • Edge Hill University
  • Hertfordshire County Council
  • London Overground Rail Operations
  • Random House Group
  • Sovini Group.


Award for Excellence in HR Through Technology
Sponsored by Peoplefluent

  • Birmingham City Council
  • Countess of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Direct Line Group
  • RSA
  • Standard Life
  • Superdrug
  • Tesco Stores.


Award for Excellence in Learning and Development

  • Argos
  • Elior
  • Hastings Direct
  • McDonald’s Restaurants
  • Mind Gym
  • Prudential UK & Europe
  • Rentokil Initial
  • Wolseley.


PPMAAward for Excellence in Public Service HR
Sponsored by the Public Sector People Managers’ Association

  • Cafcass
  • City Health Care Partnership
  • Essex County Council
  • Essex County Council (Transformation of Workforce Project)
  • St Albans City & District Council
  • Wiltshire Council.


TalentiaOverall Winner of the Personnel Today Awards 2013
Sponsored by Talentia

  • Shortlist to be revealed at the awards ceremony. All category winners are entered into the Overall Winner category.


Comments are closed.